A collage of a city street with IBM building and other skyscrapers.

Jean Nouvel, Competition Entry: Central Berlin, 1990, photomontage with computer print on photographic paper, Carnegie Museum of Art, Gift of the Drue Heinz Trust. Licensed by Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York/ADAGP, Paris

Influencers: The Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Heinz Architectural Center

Since its establishment in 1979, the Pritzker Architecture Prize has become the most esteemed prize in architecture worldwide. Awarded to an architect for a total body of work, the Pritzker is frequently called the Nobel Prize for Architecture.

To mark the prize’s 40th anniversary, Raymund Ryan, curator of the Heinz Architectural Center, presents work by Pritzker laureates from the museum’s collection. Bolstered by several recent acquisitions, these drawings, models, furniture, and photographs are exhibited in conjunction with the annual summer camp. This collaboration is meant to stimulate the imaginations of museum visitors and camp participants alike.

Architects in the exhibition

  • Philip Johnson
  • Luis Barragán
  • James Stirling
  • Kevin Roche
  • Richard Meier
  • Hans Hollein
  • Gordon Bunshaft
  • Oscar Niemeyer
  • Frank Gehry
  • Robert Venturi
  • Álvaro Siza Vieira
  • Fumihiko Maki
  • Tadao Ando
  • Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron
  • Zaha Hadid
  • Thom Mayne
  • Paulo Mendes da Rocha
  • Richard Rogers
  • Jean Nouvel
  • Peter Zumthor
  • Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa
  • Wang Shu
  • Shigeru Ban
  • Arata Isozaki


Support for this exhibition was provided by the Drue Heinz Trust, which also provides generous support for the operations and other programs of the Heinz Architectural Center.